I have wanderlust

My gym membership ends in March, and I’m finding myself looking to other gyms with some serious wanderlust.

I currently go to Configure Express. I chose it because it’s the only gym that’s both near work and home. I love Configure – it’s a women’s only gym which I love a lot more than I thought I would, the one near home is never crowded, classes at home aren’t too full and the facilities are pretty good. The one near work is more cramped and the classes are more full, but it’s not really much of a big deal.

Why the wanderlust when I love my gym? I have no idea. I’m focussing on running in 2013, but I’ve decided I’d like to keep my gym membership if finances permit as I really need it for strength and cross training.

My other gym options: Les Mills, City Fitness, Habit, Curves, or one of those 24hr fitness type places.

I’ve previously been a member at both Les Mills and City Fitness. I’m a bit of a gym slut.

Ok. So some pros and cons of each gym:

Configure Express

Configure – pros

  • I currently go there, so easy to continue membership
  • I can negotiate down to $17/week, which is pretty cheap as far as gyms go
  • It’s near work and home
  • I love the atmosphere, the staff, and I have some gym-friends
  • Classes at near work gym are great
  • Women’s only – makes me feel a lot more comfortable at the gym
  • Circuit training with weights is great
  • Radical fitness classes are fab

Configure – cons

  • I feel like a change
  • The yoga isn’t great at near home gym
  • Spin classes at the gym near home are at weird times
  • The gym near work is pretty cramped – but I go there maybe once every few months.
  • Mini-skirt girl and cheeseburger girl
  • Minimal free weights
  • Closes early on Friday (7pm), weekends (9-3) – but how often do I go to the gym outside of that time?

Les Mills

Les Mills – pros

  • Loud music, sometimes cool atmosphere
  • Les Mills classes – a nice change?
  • Could gym with new gym-friends? Could gym with males?
  • I could be one of the cool LM’s gym kids
  • Gym tag on keys – does this make me cooler?

Les Mills – cons

  • Constantly busy and loud
  • FULL classes
  • Potentially having to gym with work-mates
  • The creepy chat-up guy might still be there
  • Super cramped changing rooms
  • No location near home which is where I go most often – I’d have to beĀ organizedĀ and take gym stuff to work
  • Longer hours
  • Les Mills classes
  • Posers
  • Shitty stretch/no equip area
  • Weird weights layout makes me feel unwelcome

City Fitness

City Fitness – pros

  • The BEST spin classes
  • Abundance – awesome yoga
  • Recently upgraded
  • Good hours – 9pm on weekdays, 5pm on weekends
  • Lots of machines
  • Lots of classes
  • Monthly membership option – but expensive
  • There is one sort of near-ish work

City Fitness – cons

  • Few free yoga classes, abundance is expensive
  • Near work location far away
  • Feel a bit weird about the weights – maybe the new layout will help?
  • People always bring their kids and let them wander around
  • WAY too many step classes. Ew.
  • Often busy
  • Slow water machine – maybe that’s fixed?


Habit – pros

  • A bit fancy
  • Apparently very nice
  • Rumours of a swimming pool
  • Radical fitness classes

Habit – cons

  • near work only
  • $$$$$$$$$
  • a bit fancy – am I allowed to sweat here?
  • I don’t actually know where it is
  • Rumoured swimming pool is salt water – maybe it would help me get over my weird aversion?


Curves – pros

  • women only
  • circuit

Curves – cons

  • near home location only
  • seems not much like a real gym – like if I got sweaty, people would frown at me.
  • Further away than any other near home gym
  • No classes
  • Frowns when I’m sweaty. I know I said this twice, but I sweat lots
  • No spin – it’s not really a gym without spin.

24 Hour Gyms

24 hour gyms – pros

  • near home location
  • 24 hour
  • Cheap

24 hour gyms – cons

  • no classes – they’re what I use most
  • gymming at 3am isn’t going to turn out well

These are interesting lists. Even though it sort of seems like Configure is winning, for some reason, I still want a change. Maybe I should get a couple of week’s trial at another gym, and see if that helps me decide one way or the other?

If you were me, what gym option would you choose? Is there something I’m overlooking or haven’t considered? I’d love your thoughts!

8 thoughts on “I have wanderlust

  1. runningwhio February 2, 2013 at 10:12 pm Reply

    Habit in town is on Featherston …above Avida, I think. Thereabouts. I don’t go to gyms (no $$ and think I might not actually attend, which would mean wasted $$), but I think you’re at the best one based on your pros & cons. Maybe you could get a 10 trip to City Fitness to pick up the extra yoga?

  2. sp041 February 2, 2013 at 10:18 pm Reply

    Oh man, the yoga there is like $18 a class. It’s insane. Even for good yoga I won’t pay that much.

    Featherston isn’t too far from work, but I think not being near home would be the killer. I’ve been to the near work gym once in the last 3 months, and the near home one 2-4 times a week in the same period.

    I think I need to maybe try some of the others and see if that cures my will to move?

  3. simwrites February 3, 2013 at 8:59 pm Reply

    I would advise avoiding Les Mills and Habit (and Exodus) Expensive, commercial, and above all POSERS. I know for a fact creepy guy is still at Les Mills too. My question to you is how much do you need/want a change? Are you motivated enough with your current gym that you still go? If so, why change? Maybe change when the thought of going there disgusts you. On the flip side, would a new environment motivate you more? More exciting and new? Or the opposite, will a new place make you nervous about going and put you off? I go to CityFitness, and surprisingly, not as poser-ish as I thought. I like it. But it’s worth sticking where you can get what you want out of your gym experience – classes, atmosphere, comfort. It sounds like you get all of these at your current gym?

    • sp041 February 3, 2013 at 9:01 pm Reply

      I am motivated at my current gym, I love it lots. I don’t know why I want to move. Maybe just because I CAN? I’m not sure. I think the pros-cons list has really helped me see that I actually love the gym I go to.

      When I went to CF I loved it too. I think it’s a great gym, but there’s not really one near work which isn’t awesome. Not that I ever really use it, I just like the idea of going if I need to.

      I think you’re right – when I get unmotivated where I am, that’s the time to move.

  4. Fae February 6, 2013 at 3:21 pm Reply

    I want to hear more about mini-skirt girl and cheeseburger girl…

    • sp041 February 6, 2013 at 4:59 pm Reply

      They’re both regulars, so I’ll update the next time I see them!

  5. G February 28, 2013 at 11:50 pm Reply

    It seems like you’ve got it sorted. I’m not in Wellington but I go to les mills here (in Dunedin there’s not a lot of choice). It’s good because there’s a separate womens gym which I use. I don’t go to classes (Im kinda freaked out by the poser people) and I haven’t been going much over the summer because the outdoor pool’s open and I’d rather bike out there and go for a swim. A friend went to configure but she hardly ever used it because its got such terrible hours. It closes at 7pm every night here and is only open on Saturdays from 8-2.

    • sp041 March 1, 2013 at 8:54 am Reply

      Closes at 7? Wow! Mine closes at 8.30 weekdays (7 on Friday) and is open 9-3 on the weekends. The weekend hours aren’t ideal and sometimes I wish it was open longer, but generally I go straight after work and finish around 8 so it’s not a big deal.

      I still haven’t decided what to do with the gym situation, but I think I’ll stay with configure because I like the environment. It’s weird that it’s such a big deal to me though!

Leave a Reply

