Yoga is fun and I also like cats

I love yoga. I love how it makes me stretchy and calm and I love seeing progress over time. I love doing it at home, but I also love going to classes.

Why I love doing yoga at home:
If my arms get sore, or I get tired, I can stop. I can go to the bathroom whenever I need to without stepping on another sweaty stranger. If there’s something cool on TV I can pause my routine and watch it, or if my cat is looking especially cute, I can take photos and show you.


I also get to live tweet my yoga and show you the ridiculous poses the silly girl expects me to do.


I tend to get a better stretch because I can spend longer in poses that are more stretchy.

Why I love going to classes:
I can pretend I spent an hour being social without having to talk to anyone at all. It’s quieter than home. Less cats jump on my back while in down dog at a studio than at home.

There are mirrors so I can see how straight my back is. I like when the instructor pushes and pulls me into the right form (yay for physical contact with another human being – sometimes I can go for weeks without touching anyone else, and also less creepy, yay for better form!).

There’s a nice competitive nature to it; ‘can I raise my leg higher than her?’ ‘my back is totally straighter’ and ‘I’m more sweaty than you’. I tend to get a better technique and breathing when I’m in a class.

I tend to do yoga at home 4-5 days a week; usually right after I run I’ll spend a 30-50 minutes doing yoga in lieu of traditional running stretches. I love it; it’s such a great way to unwind at the end of the day.

My goal for 2013 (yes, I have more!) is to go to 1 yoga class a week, for at least 45 weeks of the year.

The catch (there’s always a catch!) is that I flat out refuse to pay full price for yoga. $20 a class is outrageous when I bring my own mat, my own towel, my own everything and there’s no equipment. I don’t have a problem paying to work out, but when 1 yoga class is the same as it costs me to go to the gym each week, I think that’s a little over the top.

And yes, I know there’s cheaper yoga out there, but most of it is in obscure places that are hard to get to, or run at really strange times, like 4pm. Who can get to yoga at 4pm?

So, this year, I’m going to go to at least 45 yoga classes, but I won’t pay full price for any of them. This means grab one, treat me and all those other deals sites are my new best friend. If you know a way to get cheaper yoga (even if it’s $1 off, I’m not picky!) let me know!

The reason I’ve chosen 1 class a week is because it fits in well with my timetable, and I’ll still do it 4-5 times a week at home. I just like the little added extra doing yoga in a class gives me.

So far, I have paid for $15 classes.


In total, those 15 classes have cost me $84 – $39 for 10 classes not far from work, and $45 for 5 bikram classes, a bit further from work. That works out at $5.60 a class, and you can’t really beat a yoga class for the cost of a cup of coffee.

I start my first classes next week. I’m very excited to go to real yoga again. It’s been probably 6 months since I’ve last done a class, so it might be a pretty rough wake up call!

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

