My hair routine

Yesterday I posted about the evolution of my hair over the last two years.

Today I thought I’d post my hair routine as not only a reminder for myself, but for others if they’d like to follow parts of my routine. As anything, what works for me might not work for you, so take my routine with a grain of salt.



The first step in determining what your hair needs is figuring out your hairtype. Here’s a good link, if you’re interested.

My hairtype is 2c / M/C / ii/iii.

That means my hair has s waves and some spirals (the 2c part), the individual strands are 50% medium and 50% coarse and my ponytail measures just over 9.5cm in circumference.

My hair is porous, which means that the cuticle of my hair is lifted and damaged. My hair is prone to absorbing and holding water, but also loses moisture very quickly. Dye doesn’t stick to my hairshaft well.

Some key things about my hairtype – it’s porous and curly, so it’s very dry. That means that it needs lots of moisture. My hair hates protein (think of moisture and protein as opposites – the straighter your hair is, the more likely is it that it needs protein), and can’t get enough moisture.

It’s important to hairtype properly – your hair can react really differently depending on what products are in it. If you’re interested in hairtyping yourself, read this link.


Conditioner only washing:

I’ve posted a how-to no-poo guide before. Well, I’ve changed things up since then. Now I just use conditioner to wash my hair, no baking soda at all. I’ve also added ACV rinses to almost every wash, because they make my hair beautifully smooth. I also have stopped using only silicone free products, now I use a silicone conditioner about one in every 4 washes.

Most of my washes, I use a silicone free conditioner that costs about $3 for over 1/2 a litre. I get it from the Reduced to Clear shop (they also sell bulk candy, highly recommend). It’s cheap, but it’s quite a good conditioner to wash with. I use about 1 cup every time I wash my hair, and leave about 2 tbs on my hair that I don’t rinse out. This means my hair always has moisture in it. It doesn’t get stringy or oily looking as you might think.


Deep treatments (DTs)

I do deep treatments around once a week. I use coconut oil (you can get it in the oils section of the supermarket, it comes solid). I melt it in my hands a bit, and smooth over my hair. I use about 10 teaspoons when I do deep treatments, and leave it on my hair for a few hours. The trick to getting oil out of your hair is to wash it out with conditioner only. Work the conditioner though your hair (wet or dry, I usually do it wet when I first get in the shower and rinse out before I get out of the shower). Leave it on for a few minutes, and massage it around to break down the oil. Rinse, and you’re done.

Sometimes, I also do deep treatments with oil, conditioner and honey. These treatments leave my hair super smooth and smooth down all the baby hairs that stick up like frizz.

I usually leave my deep treatments on for 3-4 hours. I put them on when I get home from work and rinse them out before I go to bed.



Honey works great for my hair. It’s a humectant, which means it attracts and keeps in moisture. This is perfect for my dry hair. Honey is also a natural peroxide, so it can lighten hair. I add honey to my conditioner, but I don’t want the lightening effect. I zap it in the microwave until it boils (usually 15-20s), which stops it from being abe to lighten hair. Be careful because it’s all natural sugars so it boils really quickly and will boil over unless you put it in a big bowl/cup.

I usually add 2 or 4 tablespoons to my conditioner, but I’d recommend trying it without adding it straight into the bottle in case your hair hates it.


Everyday oiling

I oil my hair daily with coconut oil. I usually do it when my hair is damp, from the ears down. I oil the ends the most, then a little over the length. When my hair is dry, I smooth the baby hairs at the top of my head with a tiny bit of coconut oil. It’s one of the only oils that is small enough to actually get absorbed into your hair, and it’s made a big difference to my hair.


Search & Destroying (S&D)

No matter what they say on Pantene commercials, you cannot repair damaged hair. Once a hair splits, it’s split. You can’t make it stick back together. The only way to get rid of damage is to cut it. One of the things I’ve done that has made the biggest difference to my hair is search and destroying. That means, I look at my ends and use sharp hair scissors to cut any individuals hairs that are split or damaged. It sounds tedious, but it’s pretty relaxing. I just do it while sitting on the couch watching TV. You won’t get all the hairs the first time, but if you cut say, 50 damaged hairs a day, that’s 50 less damaged hairs you have on your head!

Here’s one method of S&Ding. I don’t use this method, I prefer to grab a cm of hair and inspect it, chopping off what looks damaged.


This turned into a long, and probably boring post if you’re not interested in how I made my hair pretty. Sorry, or you’re welcome, whichever it is for you!


Leave a Reply

